top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRini Tealeaf

I finally finished a book... number 37😲

I've been in a somewhat reading slump for a couple of months. My year started really well and I hit my yearly goal of 30 books back in May and since then I've felt too tired to read when I go to bed. I usually listen audiobooks before sleeping but even those have felt a bit too hard to focus, but somehow I did finish more books during my "slump" than I remembered.

When I started this post I thought I had 30 books and What Moves the Dead would have been 31st, but then I started going through my Audible and not on I had read books during my "slump" but I had forgotten to add few books.

Did you "audiobooks aren't real books" yourself?😂 - Jaedia

I was talking to Jae while going through my lists and yes, apparently I did. 😅 I would never say to anyone that audiobooks/ebooks aren't real books, but apparently with my brainfog I did it to myself. But a fix has been issued and everything is as it should be!


Above is the book that got me out of my reading "slump". It is a book by T. Kingfisher called What Moves the Dead, and it's an amazing book. Very gothic horror. It is a re-telling of Edgar Allan Poe's short story The Fall of the House of Usher. I am a big fan of Poe but I haven't read that particular story, however I have now added it higher to my list (especially because I want to read it before watching the Netflix show).


But back to What Moves the Dead, while reading it kept reminding me of this other gothic horror book I read earlier this year, Mexican Gothic by Silvia Moreno-Garcia and after I finished it I was almost on my way to babble about the book to my bestie Jae when I decided to finish reading the "Author's note". Good thing I did because:

and then I happened to read the magnicifent novel Mexican Gothic, by Silvia Moreno-Garcia, and thought, "Oh my God, what can I possibly do with fungi in a collapsing Gothic house that Moreno-Garcia didn't do then times better?!" and shoved the whole in a virtual drawer and took heavily to the bottle. (Seriously, put down this book and go buy that one. Then pick this one up again, of course, God forbid anyone not finish the Author's Note, but make sure you've put Mexican Gothic on your reading list first.) - T. Kingfisher

So yes, if you haven't read neither of these put them on your list now. I have already started another book What feasts at Night by T. Kingfisher it is second book in The Sworn Soldier series and sequel to What Moves the Dead.


I also wanted to share my bedside TBR shelves, at first I had my favourite books arranged in there but then I thought that why not add some books I really want to read. With AuDHD comes the "Out of sight out of mind" phenomenom so this way I see all the books I want to read at some point right when I'm thinking what to read next 😁 I keep track of all my readings mainly in Goodreads, but I also try to keep The StoryGraph updated because I like how it shows your reading stats.




9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page